Rowan Pains

I’m Paul Cardaciotto, and I am a journalism major at Rowan University.

The Train

leave a comment »

You know what the best part of my day is here at Rowan? When the train comes barreling through the campus, creating an earthquake for the lucky residents of the townhouses. The thing shakes our house so much I can’t even enjoy a nice beverage without the threat of spilling it all over the place. I remember one day I was drinking a glass of fruit punch before a very important interview. I set the glass down on the table in front of me, when suddenly the train comes zippin’ by like a bat out of hell. I shrieked in terror and reached for the glass, but it was too late. BAM. Fruit punch all over my brand new dockers. Let’s just say I didn’t get the job.

Aside from ruining your career, the train also ruins your sleep. It is always fun to be sleeping and suddenly waking up to the soothing sounds of a locomotive zooming by just outside your window making your house shake like it’s the end of the world. But hey, who am I to be in bed at two in the morning? Still, I should consider myself lucky because though I am quite close to the train tracks, there are some townhouses that are literally thirty feet away from them. I’m surprised those haven’t collapsed by now.

The thing about the train is that it comes at random times, and sometimes these times aren’t very, well, flattering. I don’t mind so much when the train comes by at noon or six in the evening, but racing by in the middle of the night is just a nuisance. It wouldn’t be so bad if we didn’t live right next to the tracks, though, so why did Rowan decide to build the townhouses so close to them? Maybe they figured we wouldn’t notice a 8000 ton freight train roll by a few times every day. That and there was always the off chance that we all might be deaf and blind. Both practical assumptions.

Written by rowanpains

March 7, 2008 at 11:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

