Rowan Pains

I’m Paul Cardaciotto, and I am a journalism major at Rowan University.

Student Survey

with one comment

I think it is safe to say that by now, anyone who has visited this blog recently has a pretty good understanding of my stance on the food here at Rowan University. So there I was one brisk spring evening, sitting at my computer when I thought to myself, “Hey, I wonder what other student’s feelings are on the matter.” Could I be the only person on campus who has such heinous thoughts about our food? Impossible. That’s when it hit me: I am going to ask a bunch of kids- a good 50 at least- and see what they think about the grub served here, what they would like to see done differently, or what they feel should stay the same, then list the results here for my faithful, dedicated readers to see. So without further ado, I present to you Rowan Pains’ very first Student Survey: Operation Rowan Rations. (Rations is another word for food. I wanted to use some alliteration in my title. Sorry.)

The following survey is based on 50 random students at Rowan University.

1. How would you rate the quality of the food served at Rowan?

Poor- 6 students
Average- 37 students
Above Average- 5 students
Excellent- 2 students

2. On a scale from 1-10, how satisfied are you with the selection of food offered at Rowan?

1- 1 student
2- 0 students
3- 3 students
4- 5 students
5- 22 students
6- 12 students
7- 5 students
8- 1 student
9- 1 student
10- 0 students

The other 3 questions that I used on the survey were open-ended questions, asking what the students like, don’t like, and what they think could be done better/differently. There were some who thought the food here was perfectly fine and said they really wouldn’t change anything. There were those who, like me, ate the food here, but thought it could be better.  Generally, most of the feedback I received was your average I like or or I hate it responses, and the results were pretty even.  Aside from these, however, there were a few that stood out among the rest that I found really interesting, and thought that I should share them with the world.

Mark, a junior mechanical engineer, said that he doesn’t even have a meal plan, and that he instead receives money from his parents to buy his own food.

“I’ve had a meal plan the past two years and hated it. Then one of my friends told me that it would be so much cheaper to just not have a meal plan and buy my own food, so that’s what I did this year and it’s great. I usually go to Shop Rite or Acme and buy stuff to make in my apartment in Triad, or if I don’t feel like cooking I just get fast food or a hoagie from WaWa.”

Lindsay, a senior English major discussed how she receives headaches practically every single time she eats the food in the Marketplace.

“I can’t really remember when exactly it started to happen, but I think it was the end of last year when I started getting these really annoying headaches right after I ate in the Marketplace. I thought maybe it was just a fluke or something, but even today I still get the headaches…but I can’t just not eat.”

Going from the results I gathered in this small survey, it appears that the majority of students find the food at Rowan to be mediocre, and the rest either love it or hate it. I think it would be safe to say that Rowan should put a little extra attention into the food that is provided to it’s students/faculty, not only for the sake of those who already attend the University, but for those looking to attend as well. Believe it or not, food can be an important factor for prospective students on deciding whether or not to attend a school. The majority of students attend a school for four years- who would really want to eat food that they didn’t like for that long? Having the reputation for serving good, quality food could only bring about positive reactions, and just possibly a greater public interest in our university.

Written by rowanpains

April 14, 2008 at 4:06 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow… I can’t believe this many people are so complacent when it comes to the crap Rowan serves… I think for a follow, you could totally break down what is actually being used to make Rowan’s food… If so many people rate it as average, I’m sure they’d be shocked to find out about the chemicals and genetically altered chicken meat. Bring down the establishment-

    Matt C.

    April 14, 2008 at 6:34 pm


Leave a Reply

