Rowan Pains

I’m Paul Cardaciotto, and I am a journalism major at Rowan University.

“I can’t find a spot.”

leave a comment »

If you have ever heard, spoken, or thought this sentence, or any variation of this sentence, there is a good chance that you commute to Rowan University.

I live on campus, and have the entire time I have been here, but to those of you who commute, I feel for you. I really do. I can’t tell you how many times I have heard someone complain about parking in class, or have seen students walk into class 20 minutes late because they couldn’t find a parking spot. If I had a nickel for every time I saw someone illegally parked because there was no spots left, I’d have at least $1.30, heck, maybe even $1.40. Who knows!

So what plans does the university have to fix this growing problem? None! At least none that anyone knows about. You’d think they would address an issue that is causing hundreds of students to be late to class, a class which cost that student roughly $1,000 to attend, relatively quickly. The thing is, this problem has been out of hand for years and they still have yet to do something about it.

As you are all well aware, Bosshart Hall is being demolished and will be gone sometime after graduation this year. What some of you may not know is that it is being replaced with a small park. You know, the place with benches and trees that you can take your girlfriend to for a nice picnic. Dumb. I think some parking spots for our commuters is just slightly more necessary right now than a place to lay on a blanket and eat peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. If I didn’t know better, it would seem to me that this university really doesn’t care about its commuters getting to class on time. If it did, wouldn’t they have plans for more parking spots?

Written by rowanpains

May 4, 2008 at 6:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

